Ministers are human…

I’m home sick. This is only the second time in my ministerial career that I’ve missed a Sunday service. Luckily, I knew by yesterday morning that what I had was the flu and would not be over by this morning. And in fact, I feel much worse today than yesterday. This has been going around the church and I chose to stay home not only because I feel rotten, but because I don’t want to be the “Typhoid Mary” of this particular virus. So, I’m here in bed while the service goes on without me.

The people of South Valley are great. They’ve stepped up to the plate and decided to have a discussion of all the changes going on in the congregation. I sent them the readings, mediation, story and all that I was going to do and left it in their capable hands. Undoubtedly, it will turn out better than any sermon I could have written. The only hard part is that I don’t get to be there to experience it with them…

It’s hard not to feel guilty, but down deep I know that what people need in a minister is a real human being–one that isn’t “Superminister” and who will stop and rest and get well, rather than showing up sick and preaching a lackluster sermon while exposing everyone else to the germs. So, I will let my guilt go and go back to sleep. Hopefully, I will be feeling better soon.

