Evacuees Staying in Texas Scare Barbara Bush

I guess it shouldn’t surprise me that the President’s mother said these things:

“What I’m hearing, which is sort of scary, is they all want to stay in Texas. Everyone is so overwhelmed by the hospitality. And so many of the people in the arena here, you know, were underprivileged anyway, so this is working very well for them.”

It just makes me shudder that she would say these things, thinking them an acceptable summary of the “facts.” Why, Mrs. Bush, is it “scary” that people would choose to stay in Texas? Is it because there are so many of them and they are overwhelmingly poor and black? And how, exactly, is losing everything and ending up on a cot in the Astrodome “working well” for them? Are you insinuating that being warehoused in a sports complex is actually better than their lives in New Orleans? You know, those lives they had with homes, clothes, jobs, pets, and families in tact?

Is this what “compassionate conservative” means? Because in my book, it’s the worst kind of paternalistic, racist, classist garbage. Sadly, now I know more about how George W. Bush came to be the person he is. Now that’s scary.

4 thoughts on “Evacuees Staying in Texas Scare Barbara Bush

  1. I am not surprised by Barbara’s attitude (though I am appalled by it), but I am surprised that she would say it in public. I think it means she is becoming senile, because before she has always had the presense of mind to hide her disdainful attitude.

Comments are closed.