Yes, It's True…

As spidey so sweetly points out, today is my birthday. And yes, I’ve turned 40. I am fine with it, really. Well, I did panic at 11:59 last night. What should I have done in my thirties? What will I regret from this decade? Do I have to finally admit I’m a grown-up now?

But overall, I am fine with it. In fact, I’d have to say this has been the best birthday yet. I’m taking the day off at my intern’s urging and with the Board’s unanimous agreement. My office was decorated with balloons, palm trees, and streamers. My administrator even made me comfort food–homemade macaroni and cheese. I’ve gotten a lot of cards and good wishes. The Worship Committee had pie for me on Sunday; the Board of Trustees had cake, cards and gratitude; my online friends are planning a virtual party; my family is taking me out to dinner. And we are buying our new house today. Not bad.

So, it is and I’m sure will continue to be a happy birthday to me!

4 thoughts on “Yes, It's True…

  1. Yeah yeah!!!! Happy happy day!!!!
    Doesn’t spidey rock?
    What a nice “ode” to the sparkly sparks she created!!!
    Have a fantastic day!
    See ya at the party!!!
    Love ya!
    Suse

  2. A friendly caution: the warranty on most of your body parts expired precisely five minutes after midnight the following morning. And if you think THAT’S fun, just wait until 50, when the manufacturer starts recalling things!

    I hope it was a happy day.

  3. Don’t believe ’em, the 40’s are a great decade! I guess it is whatever you make of it, and with your attitude you KNOW it’s gonna be good!

    Happy Birthday to Sparks
    You belong in the parks!
    You look like you’re thirty,
    and you sing like the larks!

    (That’s the best I could do, with the rhyming thang.)

Comments are closed.