If I Had a Hammer

A few weeks ago I was talking with a congregant. Somehow we came around to the old saying, “Speak softly and carry a big stick.” I said that wasn’t really my style. Sticks are so…so…so unfabulous. If I were to carry something, we decided, it would have to be something much better than a stick. I suggested a hammer–from the old song “If I Had a Hammer…” Well, somehow the decision was made that my hammer would have to be especially fabulous. A rainbow hammer!

Today that same congregant showed up in my office with this:

Notice the inlaid gold chalice and the special touch of a turtle. Such personalization! And definitely fabulous!

Don’t worry, though, I promised that I would only “hammer out justice” and nothing else.

One thought on “If I Had a Hammer

Comments are closed.