Loving Ministry, Loving Each Other

Rev. Clyde Grubbs over at A People So Bold references one of my favorite letters of all time, a letter from Rev. David O. Rankin to his son.  I think I love it because it speaks personally and in a compelling way about ministry and it reminds me of the motto of my seminary non ministrari, sed ministrare.  That is: “not to be ministered to, but to minister.”  Yes, now you know from where I got my blog title.

I don’t always remember this, especially when I’m tired or overwhelmed, but ministry is the only vocation to which I have ever aspired.  I knew from the time I was five that I wanted to be part of this amazing journey of the spirit in community.  And, when it boils down to it, the only thing that matters is the answer to one question, “Can I love the people?”

If the answer ever turns from “yes” to “no” I will know it is time to move on.  non ministrari, sed ministrare. amen.

