For Times Gone By, My Dear, For Times Gone By…

We’ll drink a cup of kindness then…for times gone by.

Another year has ended, and 2006 joins the ranks of “times gone by.” (auld lang syne…or “old long since”)

This morning, I want to lift a cup of kindness to:

  • My partner and love, who continues to travel with me through the good and the bad, the sweet and the sorrowful.
  • My son, who has begun the long journey of adolescence, with its bumps and bruises and its moments of wisdom.
  • My daughter, who is blossoming into a young woman of great creativity and beauty.
  • My good friend, who while most of a continent away, keeps me thinking, laughing, talking, and playing.
  • My colleague, Rev. Telos Whitfield, for her successes interning with our congregation and being ordained and settled in hers.
  • My congregation, who lost too many this year, and know even more deeply how important it is to create a community that truly means, “you are welcome here.”

But most of all I lift a cup to the hope that this year will bring peace. May wars, genocide, gang violence, and greed dissolve into that cup of kindness. May humanity come to its senses.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “For Times Gone By, My Dear, For Times Gone By…

  1. Well, needless to say, I am still waiting for U*Us to come to their senses and start genuinely “waging peace” with me. I’ve been waiting for U*Us to return to the table for well over 8 years now. Calls for peace and justice etc. are effectively meaningless if they are not backed up by appropriate actions. I will be holding UUA President Bill Sinkford and the whole U*U community to both the letter and the spirit of his Holiday Message throughout 2007. Hopefully he will not give me further grounds to use the dreaded ‘H’ word in 2007.

    Happy New Year Sean!

    No hard feelings towards you on my part so far. . . 😉

  2. SPAM wonderful SPAM!

    In light of UUA President Rev. William G. Sinkford’s Holiday Message of December 13th, 2006 the following email was just sent to UUA President William G. Sinkford aka Rev. Bill Sinkford by Robin Edgar aka The Emerson Avenger. It will be most interesting to see how President Sinkford responds to it or indeed *if* President Sinkford responds to it.

    Date: Wed, 3 Jan 2007 19:44:19 -0500 (EST)
    From: “Robin Edgar”
    Subject: An Invitation To Dedicate Yourself To Waging Peace With Me In 2007
    To: “Bill Sinkford” , “William Sinkford”
    CC: AllOtherUUs@UUworld.org

    Dear President Sinkford,

    You And All Other Unitarian Universalists aka UUs Are Cordially Invited To Dedicate Yourselves To Waging Peace With Me In 2007

    Sincerely,

    Robin Edgar

    R.S.V.P.*

    * Répondez s’il vous plaît

Comments are closed.