Feeling Green

I guess it’s being here in the Bay Area, but suddenly the winter theme seemed dull and uninteresting. So now we have some green, green grass.  It’s not quite right yet, so expect some tweaks in the near future.

I’m doing well, but am starting to feel a bit homesick. Not that being here isn’t great–it is! But I don’t know many people at the school now, so I’m at the very beginning of building relationships.  It’s a bit lonely.  It’s also just odd to be back in Berkeley.  The setting is the same but most of the faces are different. And I’m different.  I’m not the same person I was when I arrived here a bit more than ten years ago. I’m not the same person I was when I left over five years ago. So I feel a bit disjointed.

I did move most of my stuff into my new room yesterday. With a few more adjustments and a bit of time to settle in, I’m sure it will start to feel like home.  I’m just a bit anxious about living with friends I like, but am likely to get to know a LOT better in the next four months.  What if I snore obnoxiously?  Will they think poorly of me if I watch “Heroes?”  I sound like a nervous wreck, don’t I?

Classes start next week, which will help, I think, by giving me focus. I’ve never been very good at having a lot of free time. I tend toward depression when I’m not occupied.  That’s part of why I didn’t choose to spend my sabbatical on an island somewhere sipping drinks and staring at the sunset.  I like to be busy– involved in relationships, ideas, and projects–keeping my mind, heart, and spirit engaged.

That probably bodes well for blogging, since it’s a great way to reflect on and wrestle with whatever this adventure brings my way.  So–I’ll talk to you again soon!

2 thoughts on “Feeling Green

  1. Let me be the first to tell you how much I appreciate the little bit of green! It is still below freezing here….brrr.

    The Big Event went very well, and you were missed. Lots of fun and the committee did an awesome job. And “Sean-ish” was…well, Sean-ish and fun-ish both…very interesting and different. I think this is going to be a unique and useful experience for both us and yourself. I will keep you posted. Meanwhile, learn, grow, have fun, and send us some green grass!!

Comments are closed.