Home again, home again

I’m back in Utah for the weekend. Yes, a little visit home during my sabbatical. “Why?” you ask. Well, of course, first and foremost is to visit the family. It’s already great to see them and I think my bribes gifts to the kids paid off. They seemed to like them.

Second it is our community “Celebration Sunday” and I couldn’t miss it. All the congregations in Utah, and maybe some of our Idaho friends will gather at Libby Gardner Hall on the University of Utah campus for a service that I am sure will be amazing. Rev. Dr. Rebecca Parker, the president of Starr King School for the Ministry will be preaching a sermon called “Saving Paradise.” A joint choir will sing. (not the choir above, which is the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, but is a picture of the Hall we’ll be in.) Yours truly will offer a prayer/meditation. The presidents of the congregations will all light the chalice–together! There will be amazing music, fun activities for the kids, and plenty of community. Last time we did this, the energy lasted for the rest of the year…and then some. So if you’re nearby, make a point to join us at 11 a.m. on Sunday. (Daylight Savings Time begins, so don’t forget to set your clocks ahead an hour so you won’t be late.)

And I’m here to catch up with friends and take care of a wee bit of business. (Not much, I promise, dear sabbatical guardians.) Most of the “business” is personal and family stuff, so never fear.

One last point of interest. On my way through security at Oakland International, I was behind this guy in line:

That’s Sinbad, the comedian and actor. We had a nice conversation. Don’t tell him, but when I called home to tell my teenagers, they said, “Who?” So much for my cool dad points. To their credit (and his) as soon as they saw his picture, they recognized him and did give me a very adolescent, “Cool, dad.”One more weird thing–when I looked him up to get the picture, I found out Sinbad and I share a birthday. (He’s nine years older than me.)

