Have I mentioned that my laptop is still not repaired?

To my faithful readers who want me to say something of value: I am sharing preaching duties with my friend, the Rev. Christopher Craethnenn at the Unitarian Universalist Church of Berkeley tomorrow. I will post my thoughts here just as soon as I can. Until then, this post is a rant about my laptop. I am ranting because the people at Averatec seem to think that customers are unimportant and that the company need not bother to make things right when they have completely bungled a simple repair.

In case you were wondering, the company in question is Averatec. Yes, that’s Averatec that has had my laptop for over a month and keep making excuses for why it hasn’t gotten repaired. Do they mention that at Averatec it took them until March 19 to even look at it and order the necessary parts? No. Do they mention that last week they assured me that the part (a new LCD screen) had finally been delivered to the factory BUT that they expected it to take another full week to inventory it? And then, when I called the people at Averatec this week, they told me they actually didn’t know if the parts had arrived and I should wait and call in yet another week! Averatec seems to have problems with understanding that being without a laptop for a month is NOT acceptable. Especially when the Averatec website lets us know that we can expect repairs to take seven to ten days. And especially when some of us actually believe that if a computer breaks while under warranty, it’s the company’s job to honor that warranty by doing whatever is necessary to get the customer back up and working just as soon as possible.

When I talked to Chuck, the supervisor at Averatec, he told me there is nothing he can do. I suggested he send me a new computer, since the old one was still under warranty. He said that only “Corporate” has the power to make that decision. I suggested that he let “Corporate” know that their lack of customer service was becoming a real issue. Did I mention that I blog? I think I’ll post about how terrible the service is at Averatec. Anybody listening? I wonder how high in the Google rankings I can get this post? Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec Averatec. I would suggest you not buy an Averatec computer until they can assure us that this sort of thing will never happen again.

Oh, and if I get a replacement computer in a reasonable amount of time, I’ll be glad to update this post with that information.

In the meantime, I will be trying to write a sermon without my laptop. And cursing Averatec.

One thought on “Have I mentioned that my laptop is still not repaired?

  1. I’m truly sorry AVERATEC is taking so long to repair your computer that is under warranty. It sounds like AVERATEC has very poor customer service.

Comments are closed.