My Heart Goes pitapat…

with nervousness.  Which is unusual for me.  But I’m still nervous about the clergy retreat that begins tomorrow.  It’s been a long time since I’ve been this anxious about anything.  Which means that it must mean a lot to me.  Which, at other times in my life I would think was a setup.  But not this time.

Gordon–also known as Real Live Preacher–invited the participants to introduce ourselves and say a few words about why we’re going.  I found myself writing: “My hope for the weekend is that I will touch the hem of Love’s garment and be willing to say “yes” to whatever is offered.”  That just popped out and it surprised me. But it is very honest.  I have a deep faith that Love will be present.  And I can feel the softening of my heart already beginning.

Somehow, I expect to cry a lot this weekend.  Tears of grief, yes, but also tears of recognition and re-creation and renewal.  I’m not afraid that my hopes are too high because I trust Love. And I’ve come to understand that Covenant is a place where Love dwells.

Wish me luck…or whatever is needed to be open to that Love.

2 thoughts on “My Heart Goes pitapat…

  1. Hello Rev Sean,
    I’ve been following your blog for a while now, and although I haven’t commented often, I’d just like to say that I hope you find some healing.
    Namaste.

Comments are closed.