Busy Busy Busy

Just got home after a wonderful worship retreat. I so enjoy a deep discussion about why our congregations do what we do. And we also worshiped together. “When I breathe in, I breathe in peace; When I breathe out, I breathe out love.” Perfect for me on a Sunday afternoon.

The autumn has definitely come–and possibly gone again. Today when I walked the dog, the beautiful red and golden leaves were totally gone. Amazing. It seems to me they just turned a day or two ago. Now the branches are completely bare. I admit to a moment of sadness when I thought about how long they will remain that way. Time to remind myself to stay in the moment. Right now the branches silhouetted against the dark gray clouds have a beauty of their own.

They are predicting snow for tomorrow. Already the tops of the mountains have a dusting. Winter will be here soon enough. I find I don’t mind anymore. Maybe it’s just this year of transformations, but I find the promise of dark, cold days an attractive one. I keep thinking of this hymn by Shelley Jackson Denhem:

Dark of winter, soft and still, your quiet calm surrounds me
Let my thoughts go where they will; ease my mind profoundly.
And then my soul will sing a song, a blessed song of love eternal.
Gentle darkness soft and still, bring your quiet to me.

Darkness, soothe my weary eyes, that I may see more clearly.
When my heart with sorrow cries, comfort and caress me.
And then my soul may hear a voice, a still, small voice of love eternal.
Darkness, when my fears a-rise, let your peace flow through me.

I wish you that kind of restful darkness. And me too.  Especially this week.

