Lenten Writing Challenge #21: Crossing Bridges

I’m starting to take steps to go from a place of “I wish there was some way to do what I want to do” to “I’m going to make something happen.”  It’s a scary process. It involves trying to articulate dreams that I’ve kept pretty close to the vest. The conversation started with this question:

Do you ever get a shiver down your spine that means “Yes! Yes!” or “God is here?”

Because I’ve been getting that feeling and it scares me a little. I have this haunting, unformed idea that there is a way to do the things I most love, to minister in ways that use my strengths and passions, and to still be able to pay the bills. I don’t know how to do it, but whenever I think “the world needs that and it’s what I want to do” I get that shiver.

Sometimes I call it the truth shiver. I’ve had it at the most inconvenient moments. Times when it’s a truth I really don’t want to hear. But I had it at the moment I knew I was called to be a minister, at the moment I knew I was going to be a parent, and most of the very best times in my life.  It’s a shiver that says to me, “You don’t have to know how. You only have to know this is true.”

Be not afraid.

